(Some) people who worked on System R and related systems

Click on a small picture to see a larger version.

 If your name should appear on this list, send email to paul at mcjones dot org.

[Picture] Michel Adiba (1979-1980): designs for R* snapshots, derived relations, distributed catalog. <Michel.Adiba@imag.fr>http://horus.imag.fr/Les.Personnes/Michel.Adiba/
[Picture] Mike Blasgen: RSS index component, manager of RSS, manager of System R. <michael@blasgen.com>
[Picture] Don Chamberlin: manager of RDS, co-designer of SQL. <chamberlin@almaden.ibm.com>http://www.almaden.ibm.com/cs/people/chamberlin/
[Picture] David Choy: Fast loader, reorg utility, runstat, catalog. <dmc@almaden.ibm.com>
[Picture] Ron Fagin: authorization, indexing, and theory (including normalization). <fagin@almaden.ibm.com> http://www.almaden.ibm.com/cs/people/fagin/
[Picture] Jim Gray: IBM: RSS transaction component; SQL/DS consulting, SQL/DS, DB2, IMS Fast Path efforts; Tandem: NonStop SQL; FastSort, and Pathmaker; DEC: Rdb, TP and AlphaSort; Microsoft: NTclusters. Jim disappeared at sea on January 28, 2007. http://www.research.microsoft.com/~gray/
[Picture] Don Haderle: DB2 (1978-): chief architect, IBM Fellow, architecture and development of IBM's other relational database managers and related products. <haderle@us.ibm.com>
[Picture] Theo Härder (1976): RSS sort/merge component. <haerder@informatik.uni-kl.de> http://wwwdbis.informatik.uni-kl.de/staff/Haerder/
[Picture] Bob Jolls: manager of SQL/DS at Santa Teresa; manager of VS/QUERY (QMF); manager of DB2 (1980-1981). <Bobjolls@aol.com> http://www.bobandcecelia.com/
[Picture] W. Frank King: manager of System R. <Williamfrankking@aol.com>
[Picture] Bruce Lindsay: RSS storage pools; R* architect. <bgl@almaden.ibm.com>
[Picture] Guy Lohman (1982-): R* optimizer. <lohman@almaden.ibm.com>
[Picture] Raymond Lorie: XRM; RSS: buffer management, shadow pages, transaction management; RDS: compilation of SQL, optimization. Raymond passed away on June 18, 2015.
[Picture] Paul McJones (1975-1976): RSS crash recovery; author of this web site. <paul at mcjones dot org> http://www.mcjones.org/paul/
[Picture] Jim Mehl: System R: SQL parser, MVS port, Boeing joint study contact. <JimMehl at acm dot org>
[Picture] Roger Miller (1979-): DB2: lead strategist, planning, and development (SQL, languages, install, security, audit, standards, performance, concurrency, and availability). <millerrl@us.ibm.com>
[Picture] C. Mohan (1981-): R* transaction management, ARIES, DB2, MQSeries and Lotus Domino recovery and locking. <mohan@almaden.ibm.com> http://www.almaden.ibm.com/u/mohan/
Mo Mresse
Mo Mresse (1977-1978):  identification and authorization concept and programming (GRANT-REVOKE statements in SQL) in the group of Don Chamberlin. <mresse@acm.org>
[Picture] John Nauman: DB2 development manager. <john@johnnauman.com
[Picture] Tom Price: RSS: buffer manager, latches, alternate (never-implemented) recovery manager design that didn't use shadow pages; RDS: optimizer. < tom.price@ieee.org (Thomas G. Price)>
[Picture] Franco Putzolu: RSS record component, Technology Evaluation (IBM DB2 prototype); Tandem NonStop SQL. <franco@cwo.com>
[Picture] Giovanni Maria Sacco (1980): buffer management. <sacco@di.unito.it> http://www.di.unito.it/~sacco/
[Picture] Mario Schkolnick: RDS optimizer, database design tools. <mschkolnick@acm.org>
[Picture] Pat (Griffiths) Selinger: RDS optimizer, precompiler, authorization; R* optimizer and compiler. <pgs@us.ibm.com>
[Picture] Don Slutz: RDS; Esvel; Tandem NonStop SQL. <drslutz@msn.com>
[Picture] Paolo Tiberio (1978-1979, 1981): Update cost evaluation, System R-based database design tool. <paolo.tiberio@unimo.it> http://www.dbgroup.unimo.it/Tiberio.html
[Picture] Irv Traiger: manager of RSS component of System R. <traigerik@sbcglobal.net>
[Picture] Brad Wade: RDS: authorization, code generator, catalog creation, performance, UFI, installation procedures. <bwade@almaden.ibm.com>


System R home page; Paul McJones's home page
Internet address: paul at mcjones dot org
Last updated 4 December 2016